The Better Way to Work Is Not From the Office

200 people work in this office:

  1. In the morning, they commute for 1hr to the office, carrying their laptop.

  2. They sit & use their laptop with music on their headset.

  3. At the end of the day, they store their laptop & commute 1hr back home.

Nonsense!

What if there’s a better way of working?

Remote Work Is the Better Way to Work

Some managers treat their employees as factory workers in the industrial revolution.

However, many of those employees today are knowledge workers. They only need a laptop and an internet connection to do their job.

They use online tools to store shared information.

Our tools evolved massively. Computers, cloud servers, online tools, instant messaging. All of this was invented!

However, many managers are still using factory processes created before all these tools existed.

They are missing tremendous leverage!

I’ve worked remotely for eight years and have managed fully remote teams for the last five years.

I love it!

Remote work has allowed me to:

  • Work for companies around the world.

  • Hire people from around the world.

  • All while sitting in my home office in Portugal.

How I Work Efficiently With My Remote Teams

One of the most important things I did while managing remote teams was reduced meetings.

Meetings cause significant disruption in teams with people working across time zones, so I found ways to work async (= without meetings).

One of the critical things I did to reduce meetings in my teams was ditching scrum, which entailed many meetings as a “boilerplate.”

Instead, I follow a much more goal-oriented process that works really well for async teams!

As a result, in my remote teams, we value these three essential things:

  1. Planning well ahead.

  2. Using async-first processes.

  3. Allowing time for deep work.

Having the opportunity to be in deep work is crucial in any workplace. It just allows getting more work done in less time.

Follow me for more knowledge about remote work

I’ll be publishing new articles every week, and new social media content every day. If you enjoyed this article, follow me on Twitter or Linkedin, and stay in the loop. Share my content and drop a comment there. Let’s help more people learn about remote work.