Everything You Should Know About Landing High-paying Remote Jobs

Everything You Should Know About Landing High-paying Remote Jobs

Here's everything you should know about landing high paying remote jobs before taking the leap!

I’ve worked from home for 6 years now.

During this time, I’ve had:

  • Dozens of remote offers above $100k/year.

  • A handful of offers above $200k/year.

  • Recently offers above $300k/year.

All while living in Portugal.

Why the Salary Figures Matter?

First of all, why do these salary figures matter?

A $100k/year salary might be on the low end if you’re in SF or NY.

However, if you live in a country with a low cost of living, that $100k+ income puts you in the top earning percentile.

It means financial freedom for most!

Unrestricted Opportunities

The opportunity to work remote completely changed my life.

It boosted both my personal and professional life with opportunities I wouldn’t have in an office-based setup.

There was a clear before & after effect in my career.

Increased Competition

All this attractiveness comes with huge competition for those high-paying remote jobs.

CTOs like me receive hundreds of applicants for each of these job openings.

It’s important you understand what the selection process looks like from the interviewer/company’s perspective.

It’s possible, though. For each remote job opening, there will be at least one applicant who is offered the job, regardless of how many applied.

You need to hone your skills and prepare to showcase them in the interview process if you want to stand out and get the job.

If you want to get into further details, have a look at the step-by-step description of how I landed my first remote job back in 2016.

Different Salaries

Also, note that not all remote companies pay equal salaries to every employee.

Many companies pay salaries dependent on location, which can make them less attractive to some folks. So do your research.

Contracts and Taxes

Besides salaries, I’m frequently asked about contracts and taxes.

I recommend doing your research about remote contract possibilities. This can be daunting at first, but for most people, it becomes part of the job once you know how it works.

The Incredible Tech Space

If you’re early in life and deciding what to do with your future, I can’t stress enough how big of a life-changing opportunity the tech space can be.

This is advice I’m giving to my kids while teaching them English and coding from an early age.

Sadly, in most other fields of expertise, people need to have physical jobs. Meaning:

  • Their salary is attached to the local economy (which means low wages in most countries).

  • They need to go through a grinding daily commute.

Solid tech skills are the key to remote work!

Follow me for more knowledge about remote work

I’ll be publishing new articles every week, and new social media content every day. If you enjoyed this article, follow me on Twitter or Linkedin, and stay in the loop. Share my content and drop a comment there. Let’s help more people learn about remote work.