How My Professional Breakthroughs Are Attached to Physical Places

Here's how my professional breakthroughs are attached to physical places.

I've been advocating Remote Work for a few years now. It changed my life for the better.

However, one thing I miss from my time working on-site is attaching professional breakthroughs to physical places.

Working remote, everything happens from my home office.

Here are some examples.

Amsterdam Canals

Web capture_28-11-2022_231554_.jpeg My first startup went through Startup Bootcamp. An acceleration program in Amsterdam.

I moved in a few months and had tremendous personal growth from meeting to meeting while cycling alongside the canals.

When I think about that time, Amsterdam comes to mind.

London (Tower Bridge)

Web capture_28-11-2022_231650_.jpeg While crossing the tower bridge, I received a call. Our lead investor pulled out from our upcoming Series A.

It triggered a mass layoff & eventually we shut down the company.

It was painful af, but I grew a lot. Tower bridge's foggy pictures bring it all back.

San Francisco

Web capture_28-11-2022_231748_.jpeg The final interview, contract signature & onboarding for my first remote job happened in San Francisco.

It meant a massive change in my life. Both for the professional challenges ahead and for the huge salary bump.

SF means the start of my remote work journey.

Zurich

Web capture_28-11-2022_231833_.jpeg My first high-pay & long-term Fractional CTO client was in Zurich. After almost 1 year of work, the startup was successfully acquired, which was great for them.

I was remote but flew in a few days per month to work on-site.

Zurich means an epiphany of a new way of work.

Also, whenever I'd spend a few days in a new city, I'd go for a run in the morning. This way, I got to know in depth the parks, lakes, and nice places to run by.

That makes these memories from on-site work more vivid to me.

Considering all this, I wouldn't trade my current remote work situation for my former heavy travel & commute for on-site work.

  • I get to be a part of my kids' routine
  • I spend much more time with my family and friends
  • I can exercise as a hobby and train properly for races

Also, I travel a lot with family while working, given that my work is location-independent.

Now my memories of physical places are with family, not work-related.

Follow me for more knowledge about remote work

I'll be publishing new articles every week, and new social media content every day. If you enjoyed this article, follow me on Twitter or Linkedin, and stay in the loop. Share my content and drop a comment there. Let's help more people learn about remote work.